Brewing Better Beer

I think I am going to have to start this with: I have a problem.

Brewing Better Beer BookI have just got back froa really quite fun trp about the wonderful lands of Germany – breweries galore, (More of that at a later date) and yet I found time to read the one of my “birthday present to me” things: Brewing Better Beer, by Gordon Strong. yes, this is an issue. Away in germany, for my birthday with my lovely girlfriend, some how I read a 300 page book?!

Who’s Gordon Strong you ask, well, knowing this guy is well regarded by friends of mine is a good start, then he’s also won the prestigious Ninkasi award, and again and again – it’s a sure fire thing that what ever he puts on paper regards beer and brewing is going to be worth a read. I then discover he’s the guy that they go to do the BJCP judge stuff. Heavy weight dude, me thinks.

The intro is a masterpeice by Mustafa, the script throughout is good for me as one of those “visual/Practical” types. Really it’s a comprehensive look at technical, practical and creative homebrewing (and most definitely applicable at a small brewery/craft level) advice.

If you dare call your self a brewer, be that on a 20 litre or 800+ litre system, you’ll discover techniques, philosophy, recipes and tips that will help you take your brew to the next level. I think for an “advanced” full mash brewer, this is a MUST have on your shelves.

“Like a great beer it’s extremely well-balanced—a mix of technical, practical and creative advice, that if taken to heart, will make your beer a whole lot better.” –Randy Mosher, Author of Radical Brewing and Tasting Beer.

Get this now, from your local book store preferably. Or book it in at your local library.

2 thoughts on “Brewing Better Beer

  1. Just got a few new brewing books for my birthday too. Missed this one of the list though, will have to get it next time. Currently enjoying Randy Mosher’s “Tasting Beer”. Next up is the White/Zainasheff Yeast book.

    Mark.

Comments are closed.