20 questions

Picked up from a number of blogs that I occasionally glance at, over a coffee – so, just out of sheer stupidity I am going to have a go…

my perfect day would begin with…

Fresh coffee, ideally from a small roaster, or homeroast – french press, with hot croisant, jam and nice butter – decent newspaper, and on a warm windless day a stroll to the beach.

the most beautiful beer region I’ve visited is…

Tough.   I really enjoy San Francisco, followed closely by San Diego.   great people, beer culture and occasions make it a regular haunt for me.   in the UK I have really enjoyed Sheffield, and look forward to spending more time in the Derby area, with the Reluctant Scooper.   I do enjoy Belgium and Germany… must spend more time there.  Looking forward to a trip to Denmark, and Italy soon…

if I wasn’t into beer I’d be a…

teaching, going fishing and traveling a lot?

the last bottle of beer I drank (not just tasted) was…

Cantillon Vigneron, watching the Departed last night.

my favourite beer hangouts is/are…

US – San Francisco – City Beer,  Triple Rock, Toronado, Monks Kettle, and the Trappist, Oakland.   Schooners and Valley Brewing.

UK – Sheffield – the valley walk.   Butchers Arms, Herne.   The Coastguard, St.Margarets.    Churchill, the Artillery, and Monti in Ramsgate.   Wenlock Arms.

Italy, Highlander, Parma.   Birificio Italiano.

US – NYC – Barcade, Spuyten Duvel, Gramercy Tavern.

sooooo many.

my cellar is mostly composed of…

I used to keep a few beers inhouse, then it grew to a big collection of rare and rarest brews – from Russian River, Drie Fontenein, Three Floyds… I have recently cleared it all out, giving much of it away!    Now, I just have the odd 20litre keg on a home draft system, or a corny keg of homebrew or filled at a local micro.   I love the freshest beer I can get my hands on…. when talking about drinking beers.

if you were coming for dinner I’d cook…

I would see what you’re into, beer wise, and then centre it around what’s fresh and at the moment.   Generally fish, being so close to the beach.

and to drink with it I would serve…

Depends very much on what we’re eating and drinking…. I tend to drink a fair amount of Saison when at home.  Dupont preferably.

and other dinner party guests would be…

who ever I can round up!

my biggest blind-tasting faux pas was…

um, probably mistaking a US brewed Blonde Bock, barrel aged, for a funky weizen.     Opportunities for bind tastings are few and far between.

the blind-tasting moment I would prefer to concentrate on was…

I would like to side by side some of the top imperial stouts and barley wines (seperately) as well as various  US brewed Sour ales.  Just to really see how good they are against each other.

one thing that might surprise you about me is…

I work in Special Education, as well.   Keeps me away from the beer?

if I was a brewer, I’d make my beer in…

Probably,  California, or right here where I live.

other than beer, I have a secret passion for…

Cooking, Winemaking, Fishing, Photography and languages.

my favourite holiday destination is…

Non beery – Morocco.

I think beer is great because…

The people that make it work are where the success lies.   They tend to be very cool, and interesting people!

the best movie or TV show of all time is…

Sesame Street.

in summer in the garden I’d drink…

Saison Dupont, Rodenbach, or good lambic.

my favourite piece of music would have to be…

looking through the most played on my iPod…  seemingly loud with punky element seems to be about it…

my best bottle of beer ever was probably…

um, bottle – probably when I “got” Orval.

pint… JHB – at the Railway Hotel, Appledore… or Hopdaemon Incubus – or Sierra Nevada fresh in California – wayyyyy back.

It’s always a learning curve for me, looking back – be that a vertical or flight of Darklord, or fresh Double IPA’s or aged Gueuze….

I am currently (craving) drinking…

I am really enjoying dryhopped Lagers – Hoppe, Christoffel, and one from Slagmuhlder.   along with fresh Kellerbier.

If you’re a beer blogger – have a go, and post a link back – I would love to read what you’re 20 answers are.

1 thought on “20 questions

  1. I enjoyed your 20 Q&A blog entry.
    Especially this part 🙂 :

    Cooking, Winemaking, Fishing, Photography and languages.

    I’m an amateur photographer, I enjoy cooking, I speak greek,english,german,some french and spanish and fishing is my favourite hobby 😀 Lol !
    Any good Pike waters near Sheffield ? 😀 Should we plan a pre-RBESG fishing trip 😀 (unfortunately my fishing trips have diminished a lot after the birth of my daughter 🙂 I had a nice fishing trip in Denmark this summer for Salmon, Trout and Pike though). As for Winemaking I enjoy a good red wine but have zero wine making knowledge.

    Cheers,

    Alex

Comments are closed.