in stock – out of stock…

Just a quick Friday blog post come tell me what you want…

We now have stock control on the site, so, if a product is out of stock, it says “Out of Stock”; if there is 5 or less left, the site shows there are less than 5 bottles left.   Like wise, if we get something rare and special in, we can limit or even discount for 6 bottles, through to 24 or more…

Now what I can do, is set the site to hide a product whilst it’s out of stock?       Would you like that?   But, then, that stops the chance of registering for an announcement email when it’s back in stock… also stops the chance that people searching for the product on google, or on the site and their chance of discovery…

I can of course hide products/breweries manually – like Alesmith – which I doubt we shall be having again… (but fingers crossed, we’ll see it again). But, then do I just turn off the beer, rather than the brewery, since it’s interesting to read about the breweries we have/had?

So, I am throwing it open to you all dear Twitter, Facebook and hooman friends to help me with a “policy”, whilst we look at a technological solution, allowing you to browse only in-stock products…

comments, solutions and thoughts welcome below…

3 thoughts on “in stock – out of stock…

  1. I personally think it’s “annoying” when I do a search, find what I’m looking for, get all excited, but then it turned out that the product was out of stock..

    What about marking the beers that are out of stock a bit more clearly, or at least give users the possibility to filter the ones that are out of stock – like “Show only beers in stock”?

  2. I like the idea of having them displayed even if out of stock, provided that the out-of-stock mark works! I was slightly frustrated earlier this week precisely because of that: The website failed to mark a large bottle of Westmall Dubbel as out of stock and I only found out when my order was delivered without it. Thankfully, Beermerchants made up for it really well! Cheers, guys! 🙂

  3. Agreed, a global “hide out-of-stock” flag would be very useful, especially if it could be applied to the entire site, i.e. not only beers, but also breweries that have no current stock.
    However once I am familiar with your stock, I have to manually check back periodically and search each and every brewery to see if you have new stock, or instead setup a ton of email alerts, which only apply to beers you’ve had in stock before (and is a pain in the first place). I would much rather be able to see an up-to-date list of new arrivals; it would enable me to see at a glance if there is anything new in stock that I would like.

Comments are closed.