the man, the legend

there are a few people who have influenced what I do out in beer-land, even in everyday life:  authors, photographers, scientists through friends and on the rarest occasions, family.

But, one chap has really been an influence on more than I can list.  When charged with writing this, I couldn’t say no, but what to write?     I know he reads this blog, I didn’t want this to read like some obituary, or a mutual back slapping session.

I have spent some great times in the company of Kelly, a naturally charming, cool and affable chap,  sought his advice on subjects beyond brewing and shared not nearly enough beer…  I for one, will see not only someone I call a hero, a friend and certainly one of the most influential people in Brewing in the UK, Europe and further leaving for far shores, but someone growing to new climbs, going to fulfil their ambitions and immense talents, becoming Kelly Ryan, not just “Kelly from Thornbridge” on a global platform.

I will miss those antipodean tones down the phone line, the swapping notes, challenging and discussing what I know about beer and brewing, contemporary brewing/beer ideals and fashions; thru hanging at the awesome Coach with his better half Cat.

Kelly was very influential on the start up of my brewing at the BrewWharf, taking an evening to run thru the system, when we should have been elsewhere… Thru my brewing tenure, all I ever wanted to do was brew beer as good as Kelly.   Wouldn’t have been possible, with out that help.   I kick myself we never brewed together.

In time, I am sure we’ll hear tales of great ales from a distant land, hopefully his face will appear at events in the UK on occasion.     But, for me,  his thumbprint  will always remain on UK brewing, on my brewing knowledge and my life.

with great thanks!  gonna miss you.

Phil.

of course there is a lighter side
4 thoughts on “the man, the legend

  1. Pingback: All you Beer Bloggers Rock! « beeRevolution

  2. Mate!

    I’ll take your comments and fire them straight back at ya! Seeing someone like yourself, a tireless pillar when it comes to promoting and talking about and being enthusiatic about beer, it makes what I do that much easier. I thrive off people like yourself. Seeing your energy just excites me and makes me love beer and brewing even more!

    It’s brewings very own Pendulum Effect.

    The world of beer needs more of that.

    Thanks for all the great times, may the long continue.

    All the best, bro!

    Kelly

  3. Mate!

    I’ll take your comments and fire them straight back at ya! Seeing someone like yourself, a tireless pillar when it comes to promoting and talking about and being enthusiatic about beer, it makes what I do that much easier. I thrive off people like yourself. Seeing your energy just excites me and makes me love beer and brewing even more!

    It’s brewing’s very own Pendulum Effect.

    The world of beer needs more of that.

    Thanks for all the great times, may the long continue.

    All the best, bro!

    Kelly

Comments are closed.