i am a craft beer drinker…

I am going to have to make statement to this, I like these Public Beer Service messages, even though I do wonder how far they have left to run – I think they are a wonderful snap shot of the passion, personality and commitment people make to what we all love, something we can look back on to remind ourselves of, in time.  Show our kids, be proud of our legacy, knowing that what we tried to achieve was heartfelt and honest.

Being passionate about something is nothing to be ashamed of, and I think there are a few too many critics of these films out there.   I love great beer, I mean LOVE it.   The efforts that Brewers, beer retailers, beer bars and the people who operate these go to, to shift people from their “wonderloaf” style brews, to something more experiential and heartfelt in production, has to be celebrated.    Yes, there are friends, people who I am very proud to call my friends,  in these films  be that the Craft Brewer, or Craft Beer Drinker… some of these people inspired me to do what I do…   I am not going to rag on the haters, “Don’t hate a hater” – perhaps the influences of the west coast are displaying themselves here; accuse me from sucking from their teet if you like, but it’s served me well so far…   But, having been part of something like this, trying to bring something together, it’s an incredible challenge and well done.  Congrats Greg and Jared.   There are some supremely talented people, very passionate and articulate people in this film…  But, I would rather they walk the path they do, than work for a large “brewing” concern.    I think sometimes it’s to easy to default to Fear: the negativity, criticise and completely miss a point.     Thinking about beer in terms of dispense method is so 1972, it’s high time we sought enlightenment and celebrated the efforts of the people who are the true artisans of the beer world, be that in production, presentation or performance…

We have to keep up the efforts of advocacy, promotion and celebrating beer on it’s merits, rather than it’s marketing budget.

