dwelling and pondering…

Do not dwell on the last beer, do not dream of the next beer, concentrate your mind on the present beer…

Once upon a time, I used to have to write too much about philosophy and psychology, the way the brain works, why we do what we do etc etc… if anything is guaranteed to make you go nutz that was it…
One of the problems that I bumped into was when considering the mind, bodies and the consciousness – sometimes I can get too focused, bent on the negative – overly critical of my work… extending that I tend to lose certain aspects of the language (keys) to the subject, the opportunity to articulate and then even categorise the experience =frustration and depression.  A real pain in the arse.

Processing information is only one part of what the brain does, certainly not the total meaning of “being human”.    Processing depends on a bunch of pre-established goals:: I know a computer works, because it does what I expect (formed) = you have established goals, those were equalled = success.    Now,  the analogy  of comparing a computer to the human brain isn’t particularly good.   The beauty of the human mind is  that we have the opportunity to break out, change, make mistakes and do what we do…

One of the things that I had to deal with, last couple of years, was people who’d got settled into too narrow a view of their life’s potential, out of fear (their own, or impressed on them (internal/external influence)) to the scope of their consciousness and where it might take them.      Having a creative leaning, always looking for the next experience – my horizon’s have always been somewhat larger than my more local looking sister, who’s a legal type, this has taken me many many places, and many wonderful and weird experiences.    When I was “growing up” – I don’t think I ever will, I never knew what I wanted to do.      Analysis, via the demands of a reflective practice program at University in later life, and the subsequent reconstruction, was useful, but I realised I am not some crude mechanical device; it was a template, but not a perfect tool.   It assumed too narrow a view of what the human mind is.  I have always wanted to experience the “best”, I am obsessive about getting the best – not in a competitive, better than you fashion – more make the best of what I am presented with.    Campfire cooking need not be luke warm beans from a tin.      I also like the best, I love great beer, I love great wine, great cheese, seeing amazing sights… I want the best, the talents of those that strive and deliver the best, much like watching a great footballer, say Zidane, is a marvel, much like a great cheese maker; I aspire to that, be what ever I challenge I presented, or take on.

What I do know is that my understanding of beer hasn’t come of solely drinking the stuff, but as much travelling and brewing – the best example is well, if you were to try to programme a computer to mimic Beethoven, and you truly want to understand it, learn to play it…  The finer parts of a meal will be better appreciated by your fellow chefs.   I love splitting beers and digesting them with Evin from Kernel; my brewing has improved.

So, beer is best shared with friends, chatted about, beer isn’t a fixed target, beer is personal to you,  kept light hearted, get the best you can,  don’t dwell on it, don’t compare it to another, just enjoy it…

4 thoughts on “dwelling and pondering…

Comments are closed.