read all about it!

beermerchants beer newsletter

Drinking beer, it’s great isn’t it. I know, I do it enough – travelling way too far to be fair, just for that new flavour or style. A recent trip to the US, I was reminded just how diverse, great fun the shere numbers of different beers that are out there, and yet that distance afforded me time for reflection on just a few things, when I got back.

Over the time that I have been away, actually brewing out in the US, with travels to the excellent Boonville beer festival, with of Triple Rock and 21st Amendment, the guys from the Brewing Network, and many other friends, it’s always great to see Jay Brooks, and some new ones to boot. A throat bug did curtail real “research” but, a good effort was put in, all the same.

What was apparent when I got home, was wow, we have a load of great beer in the depot. Whilst I was away, yes they have access to a really diverse selection of great beer, but I was really impressed with what we carry and are expecting delivery of.

The Marble beers stood up well, taking a bottle of the Special out to friends (brewers and beerpeeps), they really enjoyed, silly comments toward we’re figuring big beers out? (I had to remind them, we invented them, we just kinda sorta forgot about them). The Kernel beers, especially the Porter were really well recieved. I also took out a bottle of the Lovibonds Wheat Wine, which again, was well recieved. Taking Viven IIPA out there, was like taking oil to the arabs.

The first beer that I drank when I got home was the Moritz, cold from the fridge, and in 24’c in the back garden, it really hit the spot. Girardin and Cantillon soon followed… So, there you go, the beers that I drank, the ones that I take to beer loving friends over in California and the ones that I come home to.

Whilst I was away, we had a batch of Founders Centennial IPA arrive, which along with the Captain Lawrence Captains Reserve IPA, make a fine pair of IPA’s. You can read more below!

I took a few bottles of Somerland Gold home over the weekend, wow… a great go to British bottled beer, shared it with a couple of mates who wandered round, over this past sunny weekend. I am sure they pop in, for the charm, company, location… ?! So, I have taken 50p of the bottle, so you can try this great beer from Moor Beer, down thar in Somerset. The JJJ IPA, and bretheren are really great ales, becoming classics in their own right – don’t miss out! They are also getting a lot of love down in Italy and some of the Scandinavian countries, such is their quality!

The number of beer festivals and events are never ending. Yes, it’s great, but it’s hard to keep up. Two that are in the diary, as I am actually sat here on a crate and keg mixing serving a few beers with updating and editing this, listening to the cricket with the tones of Jazz in the background, is the Greenwich Beer and Jazz. Here with Meantime, and copious amounts of real ale! Don’t miss it, great music and many great beers!) and the Tasting Beers Live at the NEC. We’ll be there, please come say hi if you’re around! and to use a phrase from John Foster of the excellent BeerSchool, “get here”

As always, please feel free to contact me, on Phil@beermerchants.com or @beermerchants on Twitter – Let me know what you want, any questions or just say hi! We love to hear from you!

READ THE NEWSLETTER HERE

